Misa Shimomura / Mikołaj Poliński
one day exhibition
25th Sep 2011
Performed by
Misa Shimomura & Mikolaj Polinski
at Utopia Pavilion, Konstantynowo
Galeria Naprzeciw (UAP), Poland
  Misa Shimomura born 1977 in Mie, Japan. She is a pianist, composer and musical improviser. Between 1999 and 2006, together with the violinist Saikou Miyajima, she co-created the Kyoto underground band ''THIS=MISAxSAIKOU'' which occupied itself with musical improvisations. The band is the subject of Ayako Mogi's film "Ask the Wind" that won an award at the Nyon International Documentary Film Festival in Switzerland. In 2003 she played piano in a film by  Thomas Readelsheimer ''Touch the Sound''. From 2006 she has focused on her solo works. In October 2010 Shimomura moved to Germany where she has performed and exhibited in many places including B-flat, Berlin (November, 2010); BR2 radio "hör! spiel! art mix" in Munich (July, 2011) and the Deutsche Gesellschaft fur Gruppenanalyse und Gruppenpsychotherapie (Oct, 2011).
  Mikołaj Poliński born 1977 in Poznań, Poland. He is a graduate of the Academy of Fine Arts in Poznań and the Universität der Künste in Berlin, Germany. Since 2002 he has been teaching at the Academy of Fine Arts in Poznań. He is a founder of Naprzeciw Gallery and currently manages the Aneks Gallery, both in Poznań. His selected works on the theme of musical composition are: ''Twelve Tone Series'' UdK Berlin, 2001, ''Mechanics of Heaven'' Muzalewska Gallery, Poznań, 2003, Daiwa RF Viewing Room, Hiroshima, 2005, ''Counterpoint'' Oko Ucho Gallery, Poznań, 2006, ''Seven Tone Series'' Tonangeben, Ackerstr. 18, Berlin, 2007 and ''Blue Fugue'' with Misa Shimomura at the Oko/Ucho Gallery and Naprzeciw in Poznan, 2008.